Rescuing Macie – A 1001 Dark Nights Novella – Delta Force Heroes Book 9.5 by Susan Stoker



Rescuing Macie
A 1001 Dark Nights Novella
Delta Force Heroes Book 9.5
By
NY Times & USA Today Bestselling Author
Susan Stoker

1cf2a-addtogoodreads

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Susan Stoker comes a new story in her Delta Force Heroes series…

After years of estrangement, Mercedes Laughlin has finally reconciled with her older brother. It should be the happiest time of her life, getting to know Truck and his new wife…and it would be, if an ex wasn’t causing her trouble. Add in Truck’s boss, Colonel Colton Robinson, an amazingly distracting man whom she met under embarrassing circumstances, and Macie’s got a bit more on her plate than she can handle.

From the moment they met, Colt was fascinated by Macie, and helping her through an anxiety attack at her brother’s wedding didn’t diminish the appeal. He’d do his best to sweep her off her feet, if not for a little voice telling him to tread lightly—until a frantic phone call changes the plan. Macie’s being targeted, and Colt’s determined to keep her safe while he and her brother eliminate the threat.

Colt isn’t about to let his friend lose his sister again so soon…or miss his own chance at a happy ending with Macie before they’ve barely had a beginning.

** For fans of Susan’s Delta Force Heroes, Rescuing Macie is book 9.5 in that series**

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you’ll enjoy each one as much as we do.**


Every time I pick up a Susan Stoker book I know I’m in for an emotional adventure. I fell in love with Colt and Macie when I read the teaser at the end of Rescuing Mary.

Colt is beyond patient with Macie and her brother Truck is going to have to get used to the fact that his commander is going to be hanging around.

Truck gets a frantic call from his sister Macie as the team is being debriefed, someone is in her apartment. Every one jumps into action to help her but it’s Colt who manages to calm her.

Anxiety and panic attacks are a hidden problem since no one wants to talk about them. Susan handles them with finesse and tact as they are woven into this tale.

Romance, heat, laughter and tears round out Colt and Macie’s relationship much to Truck’s initial dismay. 

Keep reading for an excerpt that is also a favorite scene of mine featuring the women of the Delta Force Team.

I look forward to the next series with the new Delta team.

5 Contented Purrs for Susan!

“Everything good?” he asked.

Macie nodded.

“No, Macie,” he said as he put a hand on the side of her neck and leaned in. “Are you good?”

She couldn’t help the small smile that broke out. “I’m good,” she told him. “Really. I liked them. Annie is hysterical, and I loved getting to know Emily and Casey more.”

“And Mary? Did she behave?”

Macie must’ve hesitated a moment too long, because Colt sighed and pulled back. He reached for her hand and pulled her into the living room. He sat on the couch and tugged Macie down onto his lap. He put his arms around her waist and held her firmly.

Macie stared at him in shock. They’d slept curled up next to each other every night, and Colt never hesitated to touch her, to caress her cheek or run a hand over her hair. But he’d never simply hauled her around before—at least, not since the night of the break-in—and she hadn’t sat on anyone’s lap since she was five years old.

Not sure where to put her hands, she rested them in her lap awkwardly.

“What’d she say?” Colt asked.

“Nothing.”

“Mace,” he said more gently. “I can tell she said something. I mean, it’s Mary, she can’t help herself, it’s part of her charm.” He smiled. “Now tell me, so I can reassure you about whatever it was, and then I’ll go get us some dinner. I’m hungry.”

It was the last bit that made Macie change her mind about telling him. She had a feeling he would sit there all night if she didn’t spill. He was that stubborn. But his stubbornness was one of the many reasons she was crazy about him.

Pushing those feelings to the back of her mind, refusing to think about them right now, she said, “I’m sure she was exaggerating, or that she simply doesn’t know the truth.”

“About what?”

Taking a deep breath, Macie said, “She was just trying to make sure I knew what this was. What was happening here. And she told me about you killing a bunch of people when your friend was captured.”

She felt Colt’s thigh muscles tense under her butt, and it seemed as if the air in the room thickened with emotion.

Oh shit. Why had she told him? She should’ve made something up. She was such an idiot! Now he was going to tell her she couldn’t stay at his house anymore, that he couldn’t help her. She should’ve kept her big mouth shut!

Click the Cover for Buy Links and More!

Rescuing Rayne Cover Rescuing Emily

rescuing-harley


Susan Stoker - Photo Susan Stoker

New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author, Susan Stoker has a heart as big as the state of Texas where she lives, but this all American girl has also spent the last fourteen years living in Missouri, California, Colorado, and Indiana. She’s married to a retired Army man who now gets to follow her around the country.

She debuted her first series in 2014 and quickly followed that up with the SEAL of Protection Series, which solidified her love of writing and creating stories readers can get lost in.


newsletter - for blog


Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads Amazon Author Page

2 thoughts on “Rescuing Macie – A 1001 Dark Nights Novella – Delta Force Heroes Book 9.5 by Susan Stoker”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.